A still life of an old pair of shoes on a brick wall

Hello folks, and I hope that you are all well and the weather where you are is hot!

I just wanted to share an image with you that I took of an old pair of shoes that were left on a wall a few doors away from me.  It was one of those moments where I could actually see the finished product in my head.  following on from a number of courses I have done on Photoshop I am now begining to fully understand what it is capable of and a style which I really like.

The image was taken using a 50mm f1.4 Nikkor G Lens, and the camera was in Aperture priority and naturally shot in RAW.  I was lucky as it was in a shaded area – the day itself was very bright sunshine, and harsh, as opposed to soft, light.

When I came to the processing it was done as follows:

1 : Double RAW conversion

2:  Snapping the contrast using Unsharp Mask

3:  Using an effect to bring out high contrast (one that I will be covering as a lesson in another blog post)

4:  Dodge and Burn

5:  Vignette

Here is the image, and please feel free to leave your comments in the section below.

