How would you describe your portfolio when advertising?

Hey folks, I hope that this blog post finds you well?  For those of you that are UK based wow, what a change in temperature! It looks as though Autumn has taken the express train to our shores!  It has been bloomin’ cold!!

The topic I would like to briefly touch upon is how photographers describe their work when advertising.  Lately I have seen a number of adverts for wedding photographers describing their images as amazing, beautiful, breath taking, gorgeous and so forth.  Now, I am by no means the world’s greatest photographer, but I feel the need to comment on this.

Personally, I would never refer to my work using such adjectives – instead I would refer to an image I post as a favourite, and excersize a little modesty, because not everone will think the same as me and I would think their opinions of me would be that I was rather deluded.

I don’t want this to come across as having rant, or having a go at other photographers – but in my opinion it is up to the potential client/viewer to decide whether or not your images are amazing/beautiful etc.

So what are your thoughts on this topic?  Do you agree with me?  Are you a photographer who describes your work with such adjectives as breath taking? Please feel free to leave your comments below.

Thanks for reading!

Todor

 

 

