My venture into Film photography

Hi and I hope that this entry finds you all well?  First of all I would like to thank the new followers to this blog.  I really appreciate you taking the time out to read and view my images.  Thank you!  I have followed you all in return.  If I have not, please send me your link.

Those of you who follow my facebook updates [click here to follow] may have seen that I have taken the step of returning to real photography, using wet 35mm and 120mm film.  Some have asked why, and made a variety of comments.  This post will explain why I have taken the step in shooting film, alongside digital, and what I shoot etc and the results.

When I was growing up I was always fascinated by my dad’s Vivitar 35mm camera (I wish he still had that!) and as the years went on I had cameras, but never could afford the tuition to learn how to make pictures with them.  I would always try to get the long exposure styled images of flowing car headlights only to find that I had a black underexposed image with the odd speck of red and white light! Then with the advent of digital I bought a small compact and as the cliché goes the rest is history.  However, of late I have been following blogs of some very accomplished film photographers and they have really inspired me to get out there and learn.

So what did I get?  Well I bought a Holga 120, my mum found an Olympus Trip 35mm in the loft and I am waiting for an Olympus OM-2n to arrive in the post that I bought on Ebay from an accomplished photographer called Ibraar Hussein.  And Ibraar, I promise to look after this camera as well as you have!

So why did I do it? Well, I kind of felt that I had cheated in photography.  I was getting great feedback for my work, as well as getting very good stock sales.  However, I was feeling that to really consider myself a photographer I should be able to acquire the same if not better images on film.

Alongside that, some of the pictures I have seen from film really have caught my eye, with their vivid colours and styles, as well as the amazing quality of tones you get from the different black and white films on the market.

The Holga arrived first and I took that out for a test shoot.  However, I made a schoolboy error and put a 100 ISO film in the camera and really suffered as a result – a lot of under exposed images.  Fortunately, the girl working at the camera shop owns a Holga and advised me to start off with using 400 ISO film. So I bought a couple of rolls of Ilford 400 ISO film that I have run through the camera and submitted to the lab to be developed.

Now, I think it is only fair to share the bad pictures with you.  As a friend of mine said, this is a very steep, if not pricey, learning curve!

The above image was taken at a local fairground, thinking that all the vivid colours would be captured….

This image should have been an image of passengers reading their papers on a train…

Here’s an image taken using the fish-eye adaptor that came with the camera.  Am quite happy with it, sort of…

That is a ride from the fair that I took.  If only I had a fast film…

Another shot of the local ‘library’ through the fish eye lens.

I look forward to sharing the next batch of images (these were taken on 35mm film on the Olympus Trip) which should be ready for collection on Tuesday 25th Sept 2012.

Thanks for taking the time out to read and I look forward to reading your comments!

Todor

My Website

4 thoughts on “My venture into Film photography

  1. Hi Todor – Ibraar here, thanks man, being called an ‘accomplished photographer’ really made me giggle and pretty humbled, cos I think I’m pretty crap!

    But it is really fantastic to see the foray into Film photography, it is much the same but with different results, and I think more fulfilling, satisfying and enjoyable – why? Because of the extra thought, care and effort which goes into it.

    I’ve never used a Holga before, but have been very impressed with results I’ve seen (here along with elsewhere – you might think the pictures bad, but in all honestly, they’re actually really enjoyable)
    If you get a chance, I’d get hold of a Rolleiflex F 2.8, David Bailey still swears by it, and it’s a keep forever classic. I can’t justify the outlay right now, so am looking at a Rolleicord or a Microcord TLR (Microcord is a British built TLR with excellent optics and Rollei-like build quality, which can be bought for under £100 easily).

    Another thing, if you’re looking for any lenses for your OM2n (or any other lenses/bodies), I suggest ffordes.co.uk (great service and ebay beating prices) rockycameras.co.uk and vintageclassiccamera.com – again, bargain prices and great service.

    I look forward to seeing more!

    Ibraar

    1. Thanks matey! Parcel arrived today and I look forward to unboxing it shortly. Very excited. I look forward to following your blog as well as sharing more images that I take on my film camera. Until next time!

    1. Thanks for the comment. I don’t mind sharing the bad and good as photography is a continuous learning curve. Hopefully the next pictures I share from last weekend should be a bit better!

Comments are closed.