The imperfection of film

Hi and I hope that you are all well?  All good here in the UK although I think winter has been waiting round the corner waiting to pounce on us with the darkness, cold and rain.  For those of you who have seen in the news about the floods around the UK our thoughts here are with those who have been affected.

Mrs O and I were invited to a wedding party the other weekend and I decided to take my Olympus Trip armed with two 36 exposure films.  The films that I took were by Lomography, called Earl Grey, and ISO 400.  Opening the canister and having the smell of the film waft out was really nostalgic, reminding me of the ‘old days’.

The party was held in the garden and we were blessed with a really nice and bright September’s day.   Although bright the light was lovely and soft due to the light cloud cover.  I had to consciously remind myself that I was not shooting digital and that I did not have 300+ odd RAW files to shoot with the option of reviewing images and re taking the shot.

So I looked for small groups of people who were engaged in conversations, children having fun, as well as some details to capture.  I found it quite odd at first as I caught myself out checking the back of the camera when the shot was taken!  I guess the brain has been conditioned to do that!

Out of the 72 images that I took, 8 did not come out and were for the rubbish heap, and I was actually happy with the rest – although 8 went into the rubbish heap, 3 had slight composure issues, but am sure that if cropped carefully can be repaired.

Here are a selection of the images that I took.  I loved these images because they were not sterile crisp images that you get when shooting digital.  This is what I love about film – its imperfection as well as the colours/black and whites that different films/processing can capture.  I can see myself using both digital and film on a very regular basis (however, I think I may be investing in a negatives scanner to save money on developing, though!)

So this is what I learnt –

::Take your time
::Think before you shoot
::Observe groups, and dynamics
::Try to foresee situations that would make good pictures
::Shoot on the exhale

So what are you a digital, or film purist, or like to dabble with both formats?  Feel free to leave your comments about the images, as I know the choices have been subjective but am open to your feedback.

Until next time!

Todor

My website
Follow me – Facebook

4 thoughts on “The imperfection of film

  1. I’ll admit to being digital only, purely because of convenience – I don’t have, and never have had, a film camera! I’d like to give it a go sometime…

    As for the pictures, the ones of the kids are crackers.

    • Thanks for the feedback. I am purely digital, however, I have discovered that black and white film cannot be recreated in post – well the style that I like
      Loving your work and look forward to following your posts

  2. I know we talk regularly about this but you’ve hit the nail on the head – film is not digital. I’d go so far as to say they are two different genres of modern photography. To compare them is to do each a disservice. With digital, you shoot for perfection – for perfect focus, perfect composure, editing to achive ‘perfect’ colour, tone and finish. With film, I don’t know, you just shoot more consciously, more aware of the image being recorded. You live with the look, feel and finish of the film currently in the camera. And when it comes back, you love the ones that you would probably bin if you were shooting digital. My favourite in the post above? The three empty chairs – it just works, on so many levels! Great work, look forward to your future film posts 🙂

    • Adam, you are so right and both have their strengths and weaknesses as well as a place in modern image taking. Thanks for the feedback – appreciated as ever!

Comments are closed.